TXRF Journal Club


This Journal Club is born to keep in contact and exchange research on a regular basis among the “Friends of TXRF”.

As you are all aware, and most of you are directly impacted, many Universities and other entities are greatly scaling back their on-site activities because of COVID-19, in addition to the numerous conference cancellations. The slowing of research and research collaborations has a negative effect on progress for all of us, but especially for the training of our students.

You are invited to attend a monthly 45 minute *remote* academic journal club lecture and 15 minutes of discussion on research in TXRF, broadly defined. This will be done under the umbrella of the EU COST Action CA18130 ENFORCE-TXRF initiative and is open to everyone interested in TXRF.

One lecture each month and senior lectures presenting two months in a row and the third month dedicated to Early Career Researchers talks are planned.

Subjects welcome, will be original research, a discussion of a research paper, or an instrument or beamline, or a theory, or the history of TXRF. Anything that interests you and will help broaden exposure to TXRF for our students.

The lectures will be made available to anyone in real time on Zoom (up to 300 participants), where questions and comments can be posed, and then later by public posting of the recording on the Action YouTube channel. Hence, anyone who participates should expect that they are doing so in a public, recorded forum.

Your feedback is much appreciated, as will be your participation and participation of your postdocs and senior grad students.



Speaker: Prof. Dr. Jun Kawai, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Kyoto University, Japan.
Title: “Why the precision of TXRF quantitative analysis is not good?”
Day and time: Thursday May 20 at 12:00 Berlin (CEST) – 19:00 Tokyo (JST)
Zoom link and abstract available: click here to access.
Recorded event on YouTube: this link will be activated after the event.



Duration: 2019 March 13th → 2023 March 12th

Chair Laura Borgese (IT)
Vice chair Jasna Jablan (HR)